Off to Ethiopia!

Just a quick post for anyone who still reads my sporadic entries.  We are leaving for Ethiopia Friday July 30th.  We got an email about 5 pm last Friday that said we had a court date of August 5th.  We’re going to go meet our little girl and take a peek at Addis abeba.  That’s the good news.  The bad news is that the chance of our passing court and getting approval from MOWA is very slim.  Sigh.  What this means is that we will have to make an additional trip to Ethiopia later this year.  The rest of the bad news is that the cost for two tickets to Ethiopia with less than a weeks notice was astronomical!  Please don’t talk to me about waiting for a travel agent to book an adoption fare.  If I would have gone ahead and booked them I would have saved beaucoup ( a lot!) bucks.  Oh, well I am slowly letting that one go.  I have so many emotions flickering through me right now and wish I could settle on one.  My biggest worry right now is leaving my boy for 2 weeks.  Working on that.

~Alisha

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Debbie
    Jul 29, 2010 @ 11:42:03

    Travel to Ethiopia is expensive when the fares are at their lowest, so I can only imagine how much more you paid with such short notice. Still, it’s hard to put a price tag on the life of a child.

    Hope everything goes well and I for one will be watching and waiting for updated blog posts on your trip and especially on your precious little girl.

  2. Tania Bryan
    Jul 29, 2010 @ 18:32:03

    Ugh, so sorry about the cost, but at least you get to go hold that little peanut of yours. I personally do not like this travel twice rule….I can’t imagine meeting your child and then having to say goodbye for who knows how long.

    I am excited for you though. You will LOVE Ethiopia. I will pray that a miracle happens and your letter from MOWA is there and you pass court on Aug 5th.

    Safe Travels.

  3. emme1
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 21:05:31

    Wow!! I guess I have not been reading your blog often enough. Looking at the day you posted this, I assume you are back??? Update girlfriend!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

